Oh, hello there!

Wow. Things have been insanely busy here – this is the first real moment I have had to sit down and write a blog entry and who knows when I will have an opportunity to post it. We have a very spotty 3G connection on the farm but that’s about it unless we drive an hour into the next major town.

Sundays are a down day (in that we have already done yoga, washed the laundry- by hand, built a kitchen (!), and cooked two meals from scratch) and, additionally, it’s raining, so, finally, we got a free afternoon. I am hoping to write a significant blog post every Sunday, with some short ones in between, but we’ll see. Mike and I both seem to be craving a certain amount of structure (distinct working and non-working hours, specific days on which to do certain tasks, etc.) – since there is absolutely none without our own definitions – and this is just another aspect of that. Already, we have mostly lost track of what day it is. The only way I even knew it was Sunday was because the Mexican the farm employs, Trino, wasn’t around when we woke up. We wake up around 6.30 am every day and he is already here, working, Monday through Saturday.

I don’t even really know where to begin. In some ways, I feel like I have been here forever. I already don’t freak out when I wake up to a millipede walking on me in my sleeping bag. I am familiar with the lizards, the tarantulas (so cool), the ants (they are EVERYWHERE), the wasps (there is one variety that is so large they paralyze tarantulas and then drag them away! What!), etc. I know what to be afraid of (scorpions and snakes) and what not to be. And the only thing I find annoying are the midges. Those goddamn midges.

Since it is raining so hard at the moment, I think I will talk about that. The rainy season began just when we arrived, which was about three weeks later than it normally comes. This means that every couple of days it rains, very, very hard, for a couple of hours, and then stops. It is a nice break from the heat (it is about 95 degrees otherwise) although it does mean the humidity will be out of control the next day.

I thought the rain would be a little bit fun, especially on the first day. We were driving to get here and the road was washed out about a quarter mile from where we needed to be. Where previously you were able to drive easily and without thought, there was now a river. We forded the thigh high water with our belongings perched on our head and continued our journey with a Jeep they keep at the farm for essentially this purpose. I thought – yay! An adventure! – but the implications are serious. We are not playing Oregon Trail here – being cut off can mean a loss of access to drinking water, food, or medical help. The farm has built in back-ups for all of these and there was no real danger but still.  It is a feeling of isolation I am not used to having.

Today (the first time it has rained since that day, Wednesday), it was a totally different feeling. We could hear the rolling thunder in the mountains behind the farm and knew we had about twenty minutes to prepare. Normally, thunder storms and just about my favorite thing ever. This time, I felt like an animal – genuinely afraid. We rushed to bring in the laundry from the line, fill up water bottles, zip up tent windows, bring in anything uncovered, make last minute trips to the toilet, etc. Rushing to make sure it is all done, the whole time hearing the thunder and seeing the black cloud coming closer and closer. Mike and I had not gone through a rain storm with our tent and we were unsure how it would hold up. Luckily, we are in great shape. Dry and relaxed enough to read and work on the computer a little bit.

1 Comment

Filed under Liza

One response to “Oh, hello there!

  1. “You arrived earlier than I expected…” 🙂 Glad to hear you made it!

Leave a Reply

